Comparison
Best customer loyalty software for 2027: a comparison for local businesses
Looking for the best customer loyalty software for 2027? On November 2, 2026, we checked the prices and features of 17 loyalty tools available in Canada, on each vendor’s own website. ARSOM, which publishes this article, is one of them: its row also says what it does not do.
Key takeaways
- No tool wins everywhere: the right choice depends on your point of sale, the time you can spend on it and where your customers buy.
- In 2027, an Apple Wallet and Google Wallet card with no app becomes standard. Tools now differ on automated reminders, POS integration, data hosting and onboarding.
- A plan with both a Wallet card and an automated reminder usually costs CA$60 to CA$125 per month per location. Several vendors keep reminders for their second plan.
- In Quebec, check the currency (several vendors bill in US dollars or euros) and where your customer data is hosted under Law 25.
What is the best customer loyalty software in 2027?
No loyalty software fits every business. In 2027, three questions decide: which point of sale you use, how much time you can spend on it, and whether your customers buy in store or online. The table gives the best choice for each situation.
| Your situation | Best choice | Good to know |
|---|---|---|
| Square POS, simple program | Square Loyalty | Apple Wallet only; birthday messages need Square Marketing, billed separately |
| Small budget, you set it up yourself | FaveCard, FidCard or BonusQR | Reminders come with the second plan; FaveCard bills in US dollars |
| Coffee shop that wants free | Th3rdwave | Customers install the Th3rdwave app, which also shows nearby cafés |
| Online store on Shopify | Smile.io | No Wallet card; in store, only with Shopify POS |
| Lightspeed POS, points at checkout | Lightspeed loyalty | No Wallet card in Canada; reminders come with Advanced Marketing |
| Gift cards and loyalty together | DataCandy or Freebees | Setup fees; Freebees uses plastic cards |
| Quebec business that wants on-site setup and data in Canada | ARSOM; Fidlon and LoyalTea for a similar local approach | ARSOM sells by appointment, with no self-serve trial |
2027 comparison of loyalty software in Canada: prices and features
For each tool, we picked the first plan with both a Wallet card and an automated reminder, or the entry plan when no plan has both. Prices range from free to about CA$280 per month; most complete plans cost CA$60 to CA$125 per month per location.
| Software | Plan and price | Wallet card | Automated reminders | French · data in Canada |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARSOM (Montreal) | Starter CA$69/month (CA$660/year); Pro CA$119/month (CA$1,140/year), tablet lent and installed | Apple and Google | Birthday, inactive customers, top customers; Google review requests with Pro | Yes · yes |
| Square Loyalty | 60/month per location, currency not shown; 30-day trial | Apple only | Birthday with Square Marketing, 20/month more | Yes · not found |
| Loopy Loyalty | Starter 25/month, currency not shown; 15-day trial | Apple and Google | None found | Not found · no (United States) |
| FaveCard | Business US$59/month (about CA$84); 30-day trial | Apple and Google | Birthday, win-back | Yes · no (European Union) |
| FidCard (Laval) | Pro 84.95/month per location, currency not shown (Essential 49.95, no reminders) | Apple and Google | Welcome, reminder after 30 days, reward almost reached | Yes · no (United States, move to Canada announced) |
| Fidlon (Montreal) | Price not shown; pilot with no credit card | Apple and Google | Lapsed customers, reward almost reached | Yes · yes |
| LoyalTea (Montreal) | Price not shown (“Request access”) | Apple and Google | Lapsed customer, reward almost reached, offer ending | Yes · no, according to the vendor |
| BonusQR | Premium CA$119/month; free plan with a Wallet card, no reminders | Apple and Google | Birthday coupon | Yes · not found |
| Stamp Me | Pro CA$79/month; 30-day trial | App required | Birthday, lapsed customers | Not found · not found |
| Boomerangme | Business 199/month (164 billed yearly), currency not shown; 14-day trial | Apple and Google | Push, text and email automations | Yes · no (United States, Germany) |
| DataCandy | From 125/month per location plus 500 setup, currency not stated | Apple and Google | Birthday, win-back, welcome | Yes · not found |
| Kangaroo Rewards (Montreal) | Plus US$199/month (about CA$282) for reminders | None found | Win-back, birthday | Yes · not found |
| Freebees (Gatineau) | 119/month plus 199 activation, currency not stated, plus plastic cards | None found | Not specified | Yes · not found |
| Marsello | Launch US$60/month per location; included in some Lightspeed subscriptions in Canada | Apple and Google | Basic automations, types not specified | Not found · not found |
| Lightspeed (Montreal) | Loyalty included in the POS: Retail from Essential (CA$199/month), Restaurant from Starter (CA$89/month) | None in Canada | With Advanced Marketing (Retail), price not published | Yes · not found |
| Th3rdwave (Montreal) | Free for independent coffee shops, according to the vendor | App required | None found | Yes · not found |
| Smile.io | Free, then Essential US$15/month (about CA$21) | None | None found | Not found · not found |
“Not found” means we found nothing on the vendor’s website, not that the feature does not exist. Prices change: BonusQR raised its Premium plan from CA$99 to CA$119 in October 2026. Check each price with the vendor before you sign.
What is changing in loyalty software in 2027?
An Apple Wallet and Google Wallet card with no app is becoming standard: 10 of the 17 tools we checked offer one. Tools now differ on four points: automated reminders, POS integration, where data is hosted, and help with setup.
- A Wallet card is no longer enough to choose. With most vendors, your customers add it in one tap, with no app. Compare what the software does with that card afterwards.
- Reminders move to the second plan. FidCard (Essential), BonusQR (Basic), Stamp Me (Lite) and Kangaroo (Core) keep automated reminders for their higher plan. Compare the price of the plan that brings lapsed customers back, not the entry price.
- POS systems keep their points, without a Wallet card. In Canada, Lightspeed keeps its Wallet card for Australia and Square offers it on iPhone only. A POS program works, but it reminds your customer of nothing on their phone.
- Data hosting matters more. Under Quebec’s Law 25, ask where your customer data is kept. Several vendors host it in the United States or Europe; Fidlon and ARSOM keep it in Canada.
- Setup help is back as a criterion. Most tools sell self-serve, with a 14 to 30-day trial. Two Montreal players, LoyalTea and ARSOM, set the program up with the business owner instead.
How to choose loyalty software in 2027: 7 criteria
Judge each tool on seven criteria: an Apple and Google Wallet card with no app, scan speed at the counter, automated reminders, a readable dashboard, Law 25 and data hosting, fit with your POS, and total cost over 12 months, including currency and hardware.
- Wallet card with no app. With an app to download, about 5% of customers sign up; with a Wallet card, 40 to 70%.
- Speed at the counter. During the trial or demo, time a scan at rush hour. If a stamp takes more than a few seconds, your staff will stop offering it.
- Automated reminders. Birthday, a customer who has not come back in a while, a reward almost reached: these messages create the extra visits. Check they are in the plan you pay for.
- Dashboard. At a glance, it should tell you how many customers come back, which ones are drifting away and who your best customers are.
- Law 25 and hosting. Separate consent for marketing, access and deletion of data, and the hosting location written in the privacy policy.
- Your POS. A Quebec restaurant must use a POS certified SRM/MEV-WEB by Revenu Québec. Ask how the loyalty software records a reward on the bill.
- Total cost over 12 months. Subscription, setup fees, tablet, plastic cards, and exchange fees if the vendor bills in US dollars or euros.
How much does customer loyalty software cost in 2027?
Expect CA$0 to about CA$280 per month. Free plans drop the Wallet card or the reminders, or require an app. A plan with a Wallet card and an automated reminder usually costs CA$60 to CA$125 per month per location, before tax and exchange fees.
Over 12 months, for a single location, that comes to about CA$700 to CA$1,500 for a complete plan. Three costs often come on top of the listed price:
- Currency. FaveCard, Kangaroo, Marsello and Smile.io list prices in US dollars; Loopy, FidCard and Boomerangme do not show a currency. Ask before you sign.
- Setup. DataCandy lists a 500 setup fee and Freebees a 199 activation fee, plus plastic cards.
- Hardware. Most tools expect you to scan with your own phone or tablet. With ARSOM Pro, the tablet is lent and installed.
What ARSOM does, and what it does not do
ARSOM issues Apple Wallet and Google Wallet cards, sends automated reminders (birthday, inactive customers, top customers), sets the program up on site and hosts data in Canada. Pro adds a lent tablet and Google review requests. ARSOM does not offer gift cards or loyalty for online stores.
Prices as of November 2, 2026: Starter CA$69/month or CA$660/year; Pro CA$119/month or CA$1,140/year, tablet lent and installed; Network CA$99/month per location (CA$950/year per location), 15% less per location from 4 to 6 locations, quote from 7. Starter can also be topped up with some Pro options.
What ARSOM does not do, or not yet:
- no POS integration in production: staff scan the card on a tablet or phone;
- no gift cards;
- no online store module: if you sell mostly on Shopify, an app like Smile.io will serve you better;
- no self-serve trial: setup happens with you, by appointment.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best free loyalty software in 2027?
Free plans exist, with limits. BonusQR has a free plan with a Wallet card but no automated reminder. FaveCard stays free after its trial, but without a Wallet card. Th3rdwave is free for independent coffee shops, but your customers must install its app. Smile.io is free for Shopify stores, with no Wallet card.
Which loyalty software should a restaurant in Quebec choose?
Start with your point of sale: a Quebec restaurant must bill through a POS certified SRM/MEV-WEB by Revenu Québec. If your POS loyalty is enough, keep it. Otherwise, pick an Apple and Google Wallet card with no app, automated reminders and Google review requests, and check where your customer data is hosted.
Does loyalty software need to connect to the POS?
No. Scanning the card at the counter, on a tablet or phone, is enough to add stamps. A POS connection saves that step, but in Canada none of the POS systems we looked at puts a card in both Apple Wallet and Google Wallet: Square does it on iPhone only, and Lightspeed keeps its Wallet card for Australia.
Does loyalty software comply with Quebec’s Law 25?
It depends on the vendor and on how you use it. Check three things: separate consent for marketing, access and deletion of data on request, and where the data is hosted. In our review, only Fidlon and ARSOM say they host data in Canada; several vendors keep it in the United States or Europe.
Sources
- Square. Square Loyalty (Canada).
- Loopy Loyalty. Pricing.
- FaveCard. Pricing (Canada).
- Boomerangme. Pricing.
- Stamp Me. Pricing.
- BonusQR. Price list.
- LoyalTea. How to choose.
- FidCard. Pricing.
- Fidlon. Fidlon.
- Kangaroo Rewards. Pricing.
- Freebees. Pricing.
- DataCandy. Pricing.
- Marsello. What are the Marsello pricing plans?.
- Smile.io. Pricing.
- Lightspeed. Lightspeed Retail pricing.
- Lightspeed. Lightspeed Restaurant pricing.
- Th3rdwave. Th3rdwave for coffee shops.
- Revenu Québec. Mandatory billing in the restaurant sector.
- Bank of Canada. Daily exchange rates (USD/CAD).